Sunday, April 8, 2007

Santosh Tripathy's impression on the rally

Dear friends,

Warm greetings from Agamee Odisha and congratulations for making the intellectuals' rally yesterday a grand success.

8th April 2007 will be remembered as a historic day for each Oriya because 500 intellectuals and students walked on the street from AG Square to Raj Bhavan to demand for a new IIT in Orissa and upgrading University Engineering College, Burla to Indian Institute of Engineering, Science and Technology (IIEST).

Agamee Odisha invited all Oriyas acros parties/associations, intellectuals, students, teachers, professionals and others to join the rally. As one of the organizers I am overwhelmed with the participation. Two prominent MPs Mr. Baijayant Panda and Ms. Archana Nayak walked in the rally all through
with us. Eminent personalities like Mr. Prafulla Kar, singer & columnist, Dr. Bimalendu Mohanty & Narendra Mishra, ex-Vice-Chancellors of Utkal University of Culture, Dr. Bhagaban Prakash, ex-adviser, UNDP, Er. Ashok Rath, ex-executive Director, NALCO, Er. Nandanandan Das, ex-Chief Engineer, Mr. Nadia Chand Kanungo,noted environmentalist, Professor P.K. Sarkar, Dr D.R. Pattnaik, Dr. S. Jally, Dr. A. Behera, Dr. M. K. Sadhual & Dr. M. S. Dash of Utkal University, Dr.S. K. Mohanty, Dr. S. K. Uttaray, Dr. B. Parasar & Dr. S. S. Mohapatra of Orissa University of Ag. & Technology, Dr. Gopabandhu Mohanty & Dr. K. Mohanty of Utkal University of Culture, Mr. Ajit Dash & his lawyer friends, Dr. Amiya Mohanty of All India Federation of University & College Teachers' Associations, Prasant Samantray, Prasant Rout, Rana Pratap Patra, Santosh Bej, Sunil Sarangi, Santamati Dash & Rashmi Ranjan Sahoo, the student leaders & 70 students of Utkal University, Er. Ashes Padhi, Secy. UCE Alumni Association, Er, SSS Panda, Er. Jagannath Mohanty & 20 members of UCE alumni Association, nearly 80 students of UCE, Burla, Mr. Prasant Paikray, social activist, Budhia Singh, the child marathon runner & 15 others from his school, 10 teachers from private engineering & management colleges along with others participated in the said rally.

On behalf of Agamee Odisha, Sj. Dhirendra Kumar Ray, Er. Lalit Mohan Pattnaik, Mrs. Kasturi Mohapatra, Er. Ajay Pattnaik, Mr. Madhusudan Das, Mr. Gadadhar Pradhan, Mr. Gauranga Mohapatra, Dr. Namita Pattnaik, Mrs. Supriti Mishra, Dr. Ambika Nanda and Student friends organized the rally.

The rally was started at 9.00A.M. and reached Raj Bhaban at 10.00 A. M. An eight member delegation led by Sj. D. K. Ray, President Agamee Odisha went to submit the memorandum.

The success of the rally is due to the coordinated efforts of those who believe in unity and dedication for the cause of Orissa. All the print media and electronic media also deserve our special thanks as they participated actively.

Agamee Odisha has plans to organize rallies at district headquarters in the third week and a Students' Convention in the first week of May. It will organize a Dharna on the Parliament Street on 15th May.

Again we appeal the people of Orissa to be united for the cause of the state and to make a better Orissa possible.

Santosh Tripathy
Agamee Odisha

No comments: